CROW Feathers: Schylar McClure

Where are you from?

 "I am from Columbus, Ohio."
 

 

What is your position at CROW?

"I am a Fellowship Student completing a 6-month program."

 

How long have you worked at CROW?

"I have been at CROW for almost 6 months now."
 

What is your favorite animal and why?

"In general, my top three animals are goats, giraffes, and okapis because I think they are just absolutely stunning creatures. Here at CROW my favorite animal in the cormorant. They were the first wild animal I learned how to work with, and I think that they are very silly creatures. They are also very beautiful and entertaining to watch. I just might one day get a tattoo of a breeding adult cormorant."
 

What is your favorite memory or story from your time at CROW?

"There are a lot of memorable moments here at CROW, so it is hard to choose. Just recently I got to go on a bald eagle release, and it was really cool getting to see in person the eagle shooting out of the crate and then eventually fly away to be free. I also got to go on a raccoon release that was really special to me since we were releasing some of the first racoons that I ever got to work with and raise. It made me very happy to see all my hard work raising these racoons from babies to being able to release them back into the wild. One last memorable moment was when I was able to put a catheter into the jugular of a crow on the first try!"
 

What activities or hobbies do you enjoy outside of CROW?

"I am a little bit of an artist and I love to draw animals, mythical creatures, and in general monsters. I have been drawing ever since I knew how to hold a pencil and when I was younger, I mainly drew dragons and horses. Luckily, I have branched out of that and can draw more than just those two things. I also love to work with clay and especially like to make sculptures. I also love to read in my free time and prefer to read fantasy or sci-fy stories. I use to be in girl scouts and that gave me a love for camping and I hope to be able to do more camping in my future. I love to go on walks as well and especially in the woods or on beaches, but I only like walking on the beach if there are shark teeth around since I absolutely adore looking for shark teeth. The largest amount of shark teeth I found in four days was over 70!"

 

What are some of your goals or aspirations for the future?

"As of right now I am honestly not completely sure of my future goals. I am deciding still whether to go to vet school or become a wildlife rehabilitator. I know that I love working with animals and I would like to continue working with them. I don’t know how I will be doing that just yet. Hopefully soon I will know."